Kellen Rae’s Birth – 2.20.08, 7:07pm

by

In June we found out we were expecting baby number two. We were so excited to be having another baby. As many of you know, we’d been trying to get pregnant for about three years. That spring, Jay had even started asking why we didn’t have any other kids in our family. I suggested he start praying about it, which is what he did! I would overhear these sweet prayers coming from the backseat, asking God to send us a baby girl. God answered our prayers, and we were thankful. Actually, I feel more than thankful . . .

I was very sick in the beginning of this pregnancy which was different from my first. It wasn’t until the beginning of October that I really started feeling better. As with our first baby, we wanted to be surprised by the gender, much to the disappointment of both grandmas who were dying to find out if it was a boy or a girl! Thankfully my pregnancy was uneventful and healthy. Our biggest dilemma was coming up with a boy’s name and girl’s name. We had such a hard time narrowing our choices down.

As the story goes, I started contractions about 3am on Feb. 20th, just one day after my due date. I had thoroughly cleaned and dusted my bedroom the day before. I guess my body knew it was time! Jay had a school performance that morning to celebrate the 100th day of kindergarten, so Mike went to video tape. I totally figured that this baby would be coming that night or the next day based on how Jay’s delivery went. So I was thinking we had plenty of time. As it turned out, when I called the doctor’s office at 9am to just “let them know” what was going on, they said, come on down to labor & delivery now! I was floored. I said, “but my contractions are not consistent, or terribly hard yet! Are you sure?” They said yes, they wanted me checked out! So I texted Mike with the news, and he came home. Luckily, Jay’s performance and activities were already winding down so Mike didn’t miss a thing! And Papa was set to pick up Jay from school just in case…

We loaded up and made our way to Orange Coast Memorial. They got me situated and monitored me for about an hour. When they called Dr. Good-Lookin’ (no, really, my ob/gyn is really good looking! it is a nick name that Mike came up with!) to let him know that I was dialated at 1cm, he said I could go home. I knew it was too early!!! MIke and I went around the block to the Corner Bakery for lunch. I continued to have contractions all during lunch and they were getting a little stronger, but not unbearable. We realized that I had a doctor’s appointment that day at 2:30, so we waited until the office reopened after lunch at 1:30pm and asked if they still wanted to see me and could we come early?

So once we were in the exam room and Dr. Good-Lookin’ checked me, he declared that I was a 4+cm, and having this baby today! He even thought I was probably more like 5cm at the height of each contraction. He told us to walk back over to the hospital because I was staying now!!!

My folks made it down to wait at the hospital, and Mike’s folks picked Jay up from school and brought him to the hospital so he could see me before having the baby. Mike’s sister and her family were there as well as our dear friend Sheryl.

After having the epidural, things eased up for me, and I just tried to rest. As it turns out, when Mike left me at around 5:30 to get something to eat with the families, Dr. G-L arrived to break my water. At that point he said I was 8cm, so I knew it would be soon. They had a guy from the front desk, track Mike down in the cafeteria, telling him his wife needed him now!

Mike made it back in time and soon after Dr. G-L said I could start pushing. It took about a half hour or so of pushing, but finally our little girl made her first appearance! They put her on my chest right away, and I got to hold her. When they announced that it was a girl, I couldn’t believe it. I thought that since I looked pretty much the same as when I had Jay, that it was probably a boy again. Also, Mike and I had the most trouble with boys’ names, so again, I figured that would be what we had. But we were delighted to have a girl. She was strong from the beginning and when she weighed in at 8lbs, 8ozs, I knew why it seemed harder delivering her then it was Jay. She was big!! He was only 6lbs, 14ozs and a week over due!

We had a room full of nurses cheering us on for the delivery. I guess because most people find out the gender of the baby before having it, all the nurses were anxious to find out if it was a boy or girl. The shift change happened at 7pm, so my first L/D nurse stayed and my new one was there along with 2 baby nurses, Dr. G-L, and some other nurses that I didn’t even notice before. What we didn’t realize until this point was that there was a total lunar eclipse that was happening during her birth. We later looked it up on the news, and found out that she was born during the full eclipse period. I also checked out some time elapsed video on you tube, so I feel like I got the gist of what was happening beyond our little world!

About a half hour after her birth, Mike went out to the waiting room to get Jay. He was going to be the first one to see the baby and find out if he got what he “wished for.” It was precious to see Jay so interested in his new baby sister, especially the umbilical cord. Even Dr. G-L came back in to see Jay’s reaction to the baby. (Jay had come with me to every doctor’s appointment except for two, so Dr. G-L had gotten to know him. Dr. G-L also delievered Jay!) Then Jay was given the privilege of announcing to the world (okay, waiting room) the baby’s gender. Mike had to pretty much book it to keep up with Jay. He proudly flung the door open and announced “it’s a girl” with Mike just barely catching it on video. With our families hooting and hollering with excitement, one of the nurses from the nursery had to come and shush them.

And so we’ve just been getting to know our little girl and adjusting to life as a family of four. Jay’s been great with her. He truly delights in her and loves her. She also loves watching him and rewards him with lots of smiles and coos whenever he’s near her. My prayer is that even though they are 5 1/2 years apart in age, that they will grow up and be close in spirit!

2 Responses to “Kellen Rae’s Birth – 2.20.08, 7:07pm”

  1. Mom Says:

    Love the story of Jays prayers for a sister and Kellens birth.

  2. Kristi Cheatham Says:

    Congratulations Julie!! Just got the announcement today and had to go online to check out your new blessing. So happy for you and your entire family!!

    Love,
    Kristi

Leave a Reply

