end of summer

by

This is our last offical weekend of summer before Jay starts school on Tuesday. A few things have kept us busy these last couple of weeks.

First on my list of things to get done was creating a chore chart for Jay. I had visited my cousin Anitra and LOVED the charts she had made for her boys. So after taking pictures of hers and working on it, I have completed Jay’s chart. It hangs in the hallway. He is able to flip the picture card over after completing a chore to show the check mark. So far he seems to be doing well. We are still working on the making the bed one, but I think once school gets going we will get back into our morning routines a little better.IMG_5703

IMG_5705

The next project I worked on was weeding out old toys from Jay’s room and packing them away for Kellen or donating them. Next summer Jay’s room is going to get a big boy makeover, but for now, I just wanted to really stream line all his stuff. We did end up moving a bookcase and his glider and he really likes it. ***Side note *** I asked Jay if he was ready to take his glider out of his room and he said, “NO! That is my love place!” This glider has been in his room since he was a baby. When Kellen was born we actually bought another glider (thanks Craig’s List) for Kellen’s room because Jay still needed his. I have told him that next summer it is coming out so that we can make room for a desk and his big boy room makeover. Too cute!!!IMG_5699

IMG_5700

And finally, Jay got his first really bad road rash last weekend while trying out a skateboard when we were down at the Mosher’s place last weekend. There was lots of crying (I would have too if it happened to me) but overall he was really brave as we cleaned up the wound and bandaged him up. I guess I’ll hold off on those Sears portraits of the siblings at 7 years & 18 months until the cheek heals!!!IMG_5686

Tags:

One Response to “end of summer”

  1. christy Says:

    Poor Jay!!! It looks so painful!

    LOVE your chore chart. I may have to steal that idea!!

Leave a Reply

