open house 2010

by

So after missy girl got her swing on, Jay’s school’s open house officially began. Now back in the day when I was teaching, I LOVED Open House. It was rewarding for me as a teacher to have my students share with their parents the projects we’d worked on and get to chat with my families.

Now that I’m on the otherside, I LOVE going to Jay’s open house.

I volunteered to teach one of my all time favorite art lessons to Jay’s class. And here they are, Modigliani inspired self-portraits! (All my teacher friends know that this is a lesson I’ve done forever with my 5th graders and kinders! I was glad  to share it with Jay’s class.) Don’t they look cool?

Here’s my goofy kid posing next to his self-portriat.

And what kid doesn’t love sitting in the teacher’s chair?

(Another thing I love about Jay’s teacher this year is that he actually plays his guitar and sings with the kids.)

Jay and his teacher, Mr. Hanna. We are so pleased with Jay’s progress this year. I truly believe that in every school there are great teachers and not-so-great teachers. Jay has been blessed with a great one. We are so thankful for such an awesome teacher for our boy.

Oh and by the way, the shirt Jay is wearing is my old t-shirt from when I was in elementary school. Go Landell!

One Response to “open house 2010”

  1. Sheryl Says:

    Yay! What a wonderful night! I am a bit melancholy that the boys will not have the same experience. Go Jay! Auntie Sheri is very proud of you!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

